Bear Advancement

Bear Scouts work towards the Bear rank. The Bear badge is earned by completing six required adventures and one elective adventure. For each required adventure, the Bear Scout must complete the requirements described in the Bear handbook.

Bear Rank Requirements:

  1. Complete each of the six Bear required adventures:
    Req-Bear-Claws-150x150 Req-Bear-Necessities-150x150 Req-Fellowship-and-Duty-of-God-150x150
          Bear Claws    Bear Necessities Fellowship and Duty of God
    Req-Paws-for-Action-150x150 Req-300px-Baloo_the_Builder-150x150 Req-Fur-Feathers-and-Ferns-150x150
       Paws for Action   Baloo the Builder Fur, Feathers, and Ferns
  2. In addition to the six required adventures listed above, complete at least one Bear elective adventure of your den’s or family’s choosing from this list: A Bear Goes Fishing, Bear Picnic Basket, Beat of the Drum, Critter Care, Forensics, Grin and Bear It, Make it Move, Marble Madness, Roaring Laughter, Robotics, Salmon Run, Super Science, World of Sound.
  3. With your parent, guardian, or other caring adult, complete the exercises in the pamphlet How to Protect Your Children From Child Abuse: A Parent’s Guide
  4. Earn the Cyber Chip award for your age. (The Cyber Chip portion of this requirement may be waived by your parent or guardian if you do not have access to the internet.)

Remember: Cub Scout motto of Do Your Best is central to the program. There is no level of competence or skill required to complete adventures. Putting in personal effort and having fun with fellow scouts is success.